Three Mennonite Quilting Sisters

Three Mennonite Quilting Sisters
Polly, Julia, Barbara

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Wednesday Night Live

    Tomorrow evening on C&T Publishing's, Wednesday Night Live
 they will be featuring me demonstrating the delightful diamond chain block which is pictured on the front of my book "Star Struck Quilts".  Sign in to the room at 6:00pm PT
(7:00pm MT; 8:00pm CT;  9:00pm ET)
  by clicking on the above link.
"Delightful Diamond Chain"

Here are a few other quilts which feature the diamond chain running through the blocks.
"Sunshine Joy"

"Irish Diamonds"

Two posts ago I kept you hanging on "a quilt in progress".  Here is the last two steps of completing the top.  I need to sew the rows together yet.
Creating rows from the hexagon blocks. The light brown zigzags is my carpet showing through.  (Please excuse the different light settings, my camera is broken)

The finished quilt top.

Notice this quilt also has a diamond chain running through each block.  The chain is placed in the center of a tumbling block layout.

Check out Quiltmakers latest magazine and find my pattern "Spinout" on page 46. Quiltmaker has also featured this quilt in the "Scrap Squad"

Here are a few pictures of the same quilt in a smaller version.

My sister Julia Graber on my left.

A class of 22 ladies took my class in Mississippi this past fall in Julia's home.

Come join my sisters Polly and Julia and me at brunch at the AQS Quilt show on July 16.
Posted by Barbara

1 comment:

Colleen formerly of South Africa said...

Beuatiful quilts as always. Wish I could see y'all in Knoxville.